Skip to content

The Money Trap

December 19, 2012

Money. No one ever warns an entrepreneur in Africa about the dangers of money. But then again, most people probably don’t think about it themselves. After all, typically one of the motivations, among others, when becoming an entrepreneur in Africa is to make money. To build a comfortable lifestyle that you can enjoy with your friends and family. So how can money ever be a bad thing?

Technically, its not. However, when you look at distraction it can provide for an African entrepreneur, especially a broke one, it’s scary. You see, if you are not mindful enough, chasing money will lead you on a completely different path than the one you started out on, especially in Africa.

Any African entrepreneur understands the lack of access to extra capital not already in your bank account. As a result, I, like many others sometimes finding myself doing “other jobs” just to ensure my capital is continuous. After all, I think the worse thing any African entrepreneur can do is run out of money.

Since living, here in Ghana, I admit I have been continuously distracted by money. I have taken jobs that matched my skill set, but not my purpose. And to make it worse, I didn’t even enjoy them, which means they were literally a waste of my time.

As I look back, I can’t believe that instead of putting 40+ hours on my projects, I instead used an estimated 60% of my energy, ideas and innovation to benefit of someone’s dream. And well, if you ask me that is not very African entrepreneur like.

So, as you embark on your entrepreneurial journey today I encourage you to choose the opportunities that profit your purpose and not just your pockets.

After all, how many of you have also fallen into this trap….or are currently in it?

One Comment
  1. I often say chase your passion, not your pension!

Leave a Reply

