Skip to content

Broke Not Broken

December 11, 2012

Hi, my name is Cordie Aziz and I am a broke entrepreneur. One and a half years ago, I moved to Ghana to start a business, ghanacellphonerentals.com. Yes, Ghana, West Africa.  Why Ghana you ask? Well, the return on investments are high, I blend in well, I live near a beach and, well, I always wanted to live in Africa, so why not.

Now don’t get me wrong, I haven’t always been a broke entrepreneur. In fact, there was a time, like many of you reading this that I went on fancy dinners three times a week, spent an ungodly amount of money ordering shots of top-shelf liquor and shopping until my heart was content. I lived in a great modern apartment in DC that was walking distance from the metro; it also boasted bamboo floors and stainless steel appliances. Ahhh, yes, I lived the life. It was just unfortunate for me that political jobs are never that consistent and after nearly three years of living it up at fancy cocktail parties, I realized real life had hit.

I also realized that I didn’t like working for people, in fact, I didn’t even enjoy the game of politics. So what was a girl to do? Go home and live with her mother or father…over my dead body. Maybe get a roommate and slum it up in DC as a bartender eating Ramen noodles and “finding myself”. Hell no, I am way too serious for that. Instead, I decided moving out of the country was my best option for true success.

So 90 days after collecting my severance pay, cashing out my retirement fund and selling all of my belongings I boarded a plane to Accra, Ghana.  And yes, it has definitely been a journey. Browse the background page to learn more and then subscribe to the blog to learn lessons of success as I do. Most importantly get inspired to follow your dreams, no matter where they may take you.

Enjoy, I look forward to hearing from you. Oh, and don’t forget to tell a friend!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

